Acknowledgment of Country

The Shire of Chapman Valley would like to respectfully acknowledge the Naaguja peoples who are the traditional owners and first people of the land on which we stand.

We would like to pay our respect to the elders past, present and emerging for they hold the memories, the traditions, the culture and hopes of the Naaguja peoples.

Our Vision

A thriving and diverse community, embracing our coastline, ranges and rural settings to support growth and prosperity, while enjoying our peaceful and quiet lifestyle.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to maintain and enhance sustainable growth and prosperity in accordance with the Chapman Valley traditional rural and natural values. Our main objectives are:

  •  To provide efficient and value for money services to the Community
  •  To provide services and infrastructure that will enhance the rural lifestyle of residents and ratepayers
  •  Support and promote sustainable growth and development
  •  Ensure the local environment is conserved and managed in accordance with sound environmental practices.

About the Council

The Shire of Chapman Valley is a Local Government Area located in the Mid West region of Western Australia, approximately thirty minutes northeast of Geraldton and about 440 kilometres north of Perth. The Shire covers an area of approximately 4,007 square kilometres. Our economy is reliant on a range of agricultural pursuits including intensive farming, grain production and wool growing.

Established as the Upper Chapman Road Board in 1901, it was not until 1960 (as a result of the Local Government Act) that the Board became known as the Shire of Chapman Valley.

My Council

Access further information by viewing the Department of Local Government, Sport & Cultural Industries website, which allows you to view and compare Local Government indicators.

The website provides a geographic, demographic and financial snapshot of each local government and is updated annually by the Department of Local Government & Communities.  MyCouncil is an initiative of the State Government to strengthen local government accountability and performance.